Well part of the election results are in, the ones relating to the local councils and London mayoral election. Labour have taken a hammering across the country. Respect have failed to win a seat in the GLA by a very small margin. we acheived a better result than the BNP and Greens in the Mayoral vote and in the assembly elections missed out by less than 0.5%. It is interesting that we got 4.57% of the vote in London and the Labour % was down 4.34% so perhaps the good old Labour people are learning that Respect are the ones who stand genuinely for the left.

I think this is a good result so far tho’ we need to have some people elected in the Euros to really call it a major success, but in the scheme of things we only formed a few months ago and already we have started to appeal to nearly 5% of the London electorate. We have had little or no media coverage being seen as a group who’s support wouldn’t even register so yah boo sux to the millionaire media. All in all 210,000 people put their names down for Respect and there is talk of some irregularity because of a misunderstanding to do with the ballot papers.

Anyway from the point of view of the main parties itt’s splinter politics all over, the Tories are going to lose support to the Europhobe UKIP (Little Englander party!) The Lib Dems will lose support to the Greens and Labour are losing it to us. Labour have done attrociously it is their worst result on record, I don’t personally put it all down to Iraq I think there was going to be some shifting right as it was but to have such a move is unprecedented.

I’m going to the Euro count on Sunday which should be entertaining, there is going to be a room with a load of chinless wonder Tories and possibly even the Gitmeister Kilroy-Silk so I think I may take the cricket bat and practice my cover drive!

Dish Of The Day – Lucy Gaskell

Original Comments:


protagonist made this comment,
i wish i knew more about european politics but i know much more about the asian side of things. it is good reading your blogs so i can catch up with what is going on over in the UK. hope you’re doing well. sean
comment added :: 12th June 2004, 07:58 GMT+01
A visitor made this comment,
I admit to being unable to follow most of this since politics is Greek to me– but I hope however the election turns out that it doesn’t have a negative impact on your daily scene. Great comment on “bankers hours” by the way– I really liked that!
bluepoppy

comment added :: 12th June 2004, 13:08 GMT+01
Katie made this comment,
What waivering comment eh? I mean where did I leave it. You may have noticed that I don’t think I even mentioned the elections, it just shows my level of commitment towards the party at the moment. I am pleased about Livingstone though, what’s your opinion on London mayor?
Visit me @ http://screamtoasigh.blog-city.com

comment added :: 12th June 2004, 17:45 GMT+01
Katie made this comment,
I knew I was prepared to think it but not to write it yet
Ballot paper (no postal service for us):
Respect (George Galloway) Party
Even you deserve some mocking
Visit me @ http://screamtoasigh.blog-city.com

comment added :: 12th June 2004, 18:13 GMT+01
Katie made this comment,
You just want to marry me that’s your problem, I’m afraid i don’t really fancy the Midlands. Cut the hair though and I may consider it.
Visit me @ http://screamtoasigh.blog-city.com

comment added :: 12th June 2004, 18:33 GMT+01
Katie made this comment,
Excuse me sounds ‘quite good’ this summer is going to absolutely kick arse as long as I can get enough money together to finance it and can cope with boyo. I know you went inter-railing as a young ‘un but where did you go? Any recommendations for me?
Visit me @ http://screamtoasigh.blog-city.com

comment added :: 12th June 2004, 20:43 GMT+01
Katie made this comment,
Its 1.30 and no blog- what’s going on I’m bored………………….
comment added :: 13th June 2004, 02:22 GMT+01
Rachel made this comment,
seeing as how you’re so well informed when it comes to american politics, i’m sure you know ALL about your own. what’s it like dealing with european politics rather than our simply WONDERFUL american democracy? can’t be any worse than what our country is going through now.
Visit me @ http://palmysinfullbloom.blog-city.com

comment added :: 13th June 2004, 02:43 GMT+01
Rachel made this comment,
you can only expect some people to ignore what’s happening in our country, since they believe there’s nothing anyone can do to change it.
just as bad? glad to hear it, so to speak. and yes, i am interested, so fill me in on some of the fine points. what’s it like having a “queen”? better/worse than our dicta…i mean…our president?

Visit me @ http://palmysinfullbloom.blog-city.com

comment added :: 13th June 2004, 02:57 GMT+01

